Diocesan Leadership

On April 27, 2011 Pope Benedict XVI named Auxiliary Bishop Felipe J. Estévez the tenth Bishop of St. Augustine. He was installed on June 2, 2011 at St. Joseph Catholic Church in Jacksonville. Bishop Estévez joins us each January for the opening mass of Catholic Schools Week. Our students also have the opportunity to visit with Bishop Estévez at the Lady of La Leche mass in St. Augustine and at Catholic Days on the Capitol in Tallahassee.



Deacon Scott Conway was born and raised on Long Island attending primary and secondary school in the Patchogue-Medford School District.  After completing high school, he went on to the Cathedral Seminary Residence of the Immaculate Conception for four years, studying Philosophy. After leaving the seminary, Deacon Conway began his teaching career at St. Dominic High School in Oyster Bay, Long Island. He was ordained as a Permanent Deacon in the Diocese of St. Petersburg, and he now ministers in the Diocese of St. Augustine as a deacon and as Superintendent of Catholic Schools.



Deacon David Yazdiya was born in Jacksonville, Florida and attended San Jose Catholic School and Bishop Kenny High School. He graduated from Bishop Kenny in 1981, and  he attended St. Meinrad College Seminary. He has a Bachelor’s of Science in Psychology, and he earned his M.Ed from the University of North Florida.

Deacon Yazdiya was ordained as a permanent deacon in 2006 in the Diocese of St. Augustine’s first class of permanent deacons. He is married to Caroline Corrigan Yazdiya, who also graduated from Bishop Kenny High School. They have three children: David, Talbot, and Caroline, all of whom graduated from Bishop John Snyder High School.

Bishop Felipe J. Estévez

Deacon Scott Conway

Deacon David Yazdiya